The Beaming Heart

Last week, I finally finished putting together a gift box for my longest, dearest friend in the world.  We’ve been friends for over 20 years (no… seriously!) and she and her fiancé moved to Hawaii just a couple of weeks after Studly and I arrived in Texas.  We’ve never been far apart for long, and have never been THIS far apart ever.  I miss her terribly!

It’s both comforting and heartbreaking to have her going through the same things I have been since moving.

It’s nice to know, with regard to many aspects, that I’m not alone.  And that I have someone I can talk through these things with.  And not just someone, but… HER!  Someone I love, and adore, and miss terribly, and want only the best things for.  She and I have been through so many different stages of life together and now this is no different.

So I decided a while back to put together some things for her and ship it out her way, but it took me a while to get it all together and actually mail it off.  But it finally happened, and my heart was BURSTING!  Ladies, if you haven’t had the opportunity to surprise someone with something, even just something silly and insignificant, then I can not tell you enough how much of a difference it will make in your heart.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I may need to pause and take a moment to share something with you:  I’m not telling you any of this to get kudos or to flaunt my creativity, or write a “yay me” blog post.  That’s not what the intent is here.  Not even a little bit.  The intent of this post is to just show you how much this can truly change you and only for the better.  Now… back to the point. 🙂

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I not only wrapped up some fun things like a witch-hat headband for Halloween, some fuzzy socks, a robe, pajama pants, and a funny tank top along with a super hilarious turkey hat for Thanksgiving (most of which was in the dollar section at Target, FYI), but I also sent her a book I’ve been telling her about (can’t wait to tell you guys about it, too!) along with a gratitude journal that I started off with a very personal letter and on the last page wrote her one of the most amazing quotes (because she and I share deep, introspective, word-driven hearts):

May your days be filled with small, sacred moments of awareness.

May you set side your hurry, your pulling, your wishing for different.

May you linger over meals and take walks with slow steps.

May you hold books with pages, mugs with steam, and hands who know your secrets.

May you settle in, right where you are, refusing to wish for something different.

Enjoy your time, friends.  Live your moments – live them full.

~Vicky Westra

I just think that is so beautiful and can’t think of any better way to put it.  And on top of it just being an amazing wish (mine for all of you, at that), it is just so timely and spot on for what my dear dear friend and I are going through right now.  SO it was absolutely perfect!

As I was grabbing the final things for her package, I also grabbed quite a few (way too many, really… I have a problem!) blank sets of note cards and hoped to get back into the habit of sending random notes to my loved ones and friends on occasion.  So when I finished packing up and wrapping her package, I grabbed a few of the note cards and jotted a quick note for my mother and older sister.  And my heart just continued to grow and grow!

Again, I cannot express in typed words how much joy I felt as I anticipated them receiving these note cards and feeling a distant hug around their necks from me.  It was so so thrilling!

And I do have to give a shout-out to a bloggy friend Elisha over at Waiting For Baby Bird for the final push to get my butt in gear and finally get back into sending these little surprise notes.  She mentioned in a post last week that she did the same and it sparked that flame in me again. 🙂  Thanks, girl!

Anywho, here’s the grand finale – the package that I sent to my dear dear friend was set to arrive tomorrow, and I honestly had all-but-forgotten about it for the weekend when I got an alert on my iPhone that she posted a picture and tagged me in it.  I didn’t jump to check it right away because we were watching a movie and I figured it was just a flashback kind of picture from when we were young… but boy was I off base!  She’d gotten the package a full day early, somehow, and posted a collage-pic of her holding the bright-pink wrapped box on her balcony, and few shots of the inside package.  I was so excited!  She also wrote the sweetest note with her post and I. Was. BEAMING!

There’s just something that happens in you heart when you do something for someone else that gets you absolutely nothing in return… it’s just…  It’s amazing!  And you know what’s funny?  Up until writing this paragraph, I didn’t put it together, but the message that we heard at church today actually touched on this topic as well – there have even been studies done to find what it is that makes the happiest people, well… happy!  And you know what they found?  It was the most generous people who were the happiest.

That’s really all… I just wanted to share with you all how giving a little, very little, something can make SUCH a big difference in your week.  AND in that of a very dear friend.

So go out this week and do something for someone.  It’ll swell your heart until it almost bursts.  It’ll limit any kind of funk you may be in and it’ll quickly become something that you’ll want to do again… even if you hear nothing from the recipient.

Trust me… give it a shot and let me know how it goes!  I want to hear ALL about it.  Bring us the deets!

This week, Hope is Trying to make someone smile…

~Hope

Posted on September 29, 2014, in deep thoughts, Life, thankful and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

This is our Bliss

Creating a happy home, room-by-room and day-by-day.

Sawdust Girl®

Build like a Girl®

In Due Time

Hope & Encouragement in the Waiting

Erin Akin Carroll

Taking life a day at a time, with a little bit of faith and a whole lot of trial and error.

Whimsical September

Taking life a day at a time, with a little bit of faith and a whole lot of trial and error.

The Life Of Faith

Taking life a day at a time, with a little bit of faith and a whole lot of trial and error.

* View Along the Way *

Taking life a day at a time, with a little bit of faith and a whole lot of trial and error.

Magnolia Market

Taking life a day at a time, with a little bit of faith and a whole lot of trial and error.

Where's my Baby Bear?

A journey through infertility, life with twins, and other random thoughts.

Adventures of a Labor Nurse

The Highs and Lows of Labor and Delivery

www.aholyexperience.com/

Just another WordPress.com site

5th Belle Avenue

Taking life a day at a time, with a little bit of faith and a whole lot of trial and error.

Abeautifulministry

Taking life a day at a time, with a little bit of faith and a whole lot of trial and error.

(in)courage

Taking life a day at a time, with a little bit of faith and a whole lot of trial and error.

Young House Love

DIY Home Decorating Projects, Tutorials, & Shenanigans

The New Girl On Post

Taking life a day at a time, with a little bit of faith and a whole lot of trial and error.

Blueberry's Blog

Taking life a day at a time, with a little bit of faith and a whole lot of trial and error.

scottyboy and katygirl.

Taking life a day at a time, with a little bit of faith and a whole lot of trial and error.

Kari Gibson | On A Journey To Love Big

Taking life a day at a time, with a little bit of faith and a whole lot of trial and error.

