Good Ole Doctor G

I guess it’s time for a little update on the babymaker.

But before I begin, you should just know that this is one of those “Bonus Information” kind of posts… so consider yourself warned.

So I had to get a few tests run again last week.

I haven’t had a cycle since December, and since it’s April… well… it was long overdue.

Fun fact: If you go too long without having a period, the lining of your uterus can get to a point where it’s potentially precancerous, so it’s important not to ignore the issue. Before doing anything crazy, the doctor will check the thickness of the lining, probably by ultrasound.

In my case, this is definitely not the first time this has happened. And having PCOS makes me more likely to skip cycles, since my eggs tend to hang around the ovaries, attach themselves, and become cysts. (Apparently my ovaries are of the LaZBoy variety… Why else wouldn’t they want to leave, right?!)

Anywho, I called my OBGYN to chat about it and left a message with the nurse. I really just expected a call saying that I needed to go back on Metformin or go through a cycle of progesterone, again, but they actually said that I needed to come in and that Dr. G had made time for me just a few days later.

This is a good time to mention that I love my doctor. Loooooove him. It took many many years and into the double digits of doctors before finding someone that talked with me and not just at me. Someone who trusted my background and knowledge of the subjects at hand, based on my work at a pregnancy clinic and volunteering in the L&D ward at a local hospital. Someone who didn’t scoff, roll an eye when I said that I was still a virgin at 19 (when I finally found him), and go in for an “inspection” at full throttle before realizing I wasn’t lying and toning it down several notches (youch!). Someone who didn’t ask me 19 different ways if I was at all sexually active, to include the “extra-curricular versions” of the term itself.

Side rant: It’s seriously soooo so so important to like your OBGYN. You need to have a doctor that you trust and with whom you can discuss your situation and treatment options. And I’m fortunate enough to have a phenomenal doctor that I recommend to anyone and everyone. I’ve been seeing him for something like 8+ years and wish he’d move with us so that I didn’t have to go through finding a doctor again. (waaaaaahhhhh!!)

Back to the nitty gritty.

I went to my appointment, still thinking that I’d walk out with a prescription for Metformin or progesterone again. But instead, Dr. G and I had a good talk about not just the current situation, but also about Studly and I’s TTC journey. He asked how I was doing… not just how I was doing. I really appreciated that, since it’s not necessarily something that a lot of doctors do. I also told him about our upcoming move and how that could effect things. We talked about what we’d tried in the past, treatment plans for both the lack-of-cycle issue and TTC, and on the way out he made some jokes about the Great State of Texas before telling me he was happy for us and that we’d love it there. All in all in was a good visit. I walked out with orders to get my TSH (thyroid) and HCG (pregnancy) levels checked again, as well as an ultrasound of my ovaries and endometrial lining (both a pelvic and a transvaginal… blech). So basically, my 30 minute appointment turned into an all-day affair.

Lucky for me it was all sunshine and rainbows. Well… There weren’t a ton of rainbows, but it really was a beautiful, sunny day. So the wait between appointments wasn’t so painful, in the end. 😉

Anywho, 2 short days later I got the call with all of my test results, and to my surprise it was actually Dr. G that called to deliver the info, not a nurse like I’d actually expected. (Have I mentioned that I love this doctor?!). Everything came back as expected – TSH was normal, HCG was negative, and my endometrium was thicker than would be ideal, so I was going to do a round of progesterone to kick start a cycle.

Well, I started the progesterone on Friday and now I’m just waiting for the desired effect. Shouldn’t take too long… at least that’s typically how things work with my body (excluding only one time, that is).

At the appointment, we also talked about future plans, such as whether or not I’d take Metformin again. We discussed my experience when we attempted a round of Clomid a few years back (no thank you) and his suggestion to try injectables over Clomid if we wanted another go in the future, since they can be more easily regulated day-to-day than the Clomid can (which means fewer, less-intense side-effects, thankthegoodLord).

So I’ll have to give you the scoop on our past attempt with Clomid, as well as the low down on everything else we’ve attempted while TTC… and even the things we’ve opted not to try, on our journey. But alas, that’s it for now.

What’ve you guys been up to? Feeling healthy these days? Do you like your OBGYN or any of your other doctors? Spill!

~ Hope

Posted on April 13, 2014, in bebes, Life, pains and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

This is our Bliss

Creating a happy home, room-by-room and day-by-day.

Sawdust Girl®

Build like a Girl®

In Due Time

Hope & Encouragement in the Waiting

Erin Akin Carroll

Taking life a day at a time, with a little bit of faith and a whole lot of trial and error.

Whimsical September

Taking life a day at a time, with a little bit of faith and a whole lot of trial and error.

The Life Of Faith

Taking life a day at a time, with a little bit of faith and a whole lot of trial and error.

* View Along the Way *

Taking life a day at a time, with a little bit of faith and a whole lot of trial and error.

Magnolia Market

Taking life a day at a time, with a little bit of faith and a whole lot of trial and error.

Where's my Baby Bear?

A journey through infertility, life with twins, and other random thoughts.

Adventures of a Labor Nurse

The Highs and Lows of Labor and Delivery

www.aholyexperience.com/

Just another WordPress.com site

5th Belle Avenue

Taking life a day at a time, with a little bit of faith and a whole lot of trial and error.

Abeautifulministry

Taking life a day at a time, with a little bit of faith and a whole lot of trial and error.

(in)courage

Taking life a day at a time, with a little bit of faith and a whole lot of trial and error.

Young House Love

DIY Home Decorating Projects, Tutorials, & Shenanigans

The New Girl On Post

Taking life a day at a time, with a little bit of faith and a whole lot of trial and error.

Blueberry's Blog

Taking life a day at a time, with a little bit of faith and a whole lot of trial and error.

scottyboy and katygirl.

Taking life a day at a time, with a little bit of faith and a whole lot of trial and error.

Kari Gibson | On A Journey To Love Big

Taking life a day at a time, with a little bit of faith and a whole lot of trial and error.

