Thankful Thursday!

I’m hoping to make this a “thing,” but like any great “thing” you must start simple. Right?! Right.

So today I just wanted to say that I’m thankful for so so so much right now, but that wouldn’t be a fair way to start, so I’ll start with this:

Technology.

I’m so glad that I live in a time where technology is so widely available, at least in our part of the world. Although sometimes it can be quite the distraction to what’s important, today I was reminded how much of a difference it can make.

This morning, I wasn’t feeling fantastic and decided to go into work a little late. So I picked up my smart phone, called in to work to let them know when I’d be in, and turned over to go right back to sleep – all without leaving the warm comfort of my bed.

I set an alarm with the same smart phone, to ensure that I didn’t lose track of time and go in later than promised.

Then I slept… With my heater running and my ceiling fan spinning, circulating the air in my room to keep things from feeling stagnant.

I awoke before my reminder alarm went off, flipped on the light switch in my bathroom and turned on my running water to brush my teeth.

Technology. Is. Everywhere.

These days we use it without even thinking! But he biggest reminder came just a few short moments later, mid-teeth-brushing. Now… I am one of those people that seems to forever have their phone on silent, so keep that in mind…

All of a sudden my phone starts going CRAZYtown! I promise you that it sounded way louder and waayyy more obnoxious than any other phone sound I’ve heard. It scared the bejeebers out of me, but when I looked down, I saw the reason for it all, and two of the saddest words blinked on my phone and it yelled and screamed for my attention:

AMBER ALERT!

My heart just broke. It was an alert that was sent out for a town very close to us. I immediately started to pray over the situation, but then was suddenly struck with just a sense of gratitude. How amazing is it that we have the technology to alert everyone within a specified radius IMMEDIATELY upon the issuance of such an important alert?!

Years ago, someone could easily go about unnoticed with a kidnapped child in tow. Nowadays?! Not so much. And I am so so grateful for this progression in our technology. Also, I’m pretty sure that I’ve never in my life been so intensely observant of the other cars around me as I drive… I was hardcore looking for the specified vehicle.

For those wondering, the child is still missing, at the moment, but I’ll try to remember to update as soon as I hear that things have changed in that regard.

So today, I’m thankful for Technology. What are you thankful for?

~ Hope

Posted on March 6, 2014, in thankful and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. So so very true! Technology really is EVERYWHERE around us and we should be more thankful for it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

This is our Bliss

Creating a happy home, room-by-room and day-by-day.

Sawdust Girl®

Build like a Girl®

In Due Time

Hope & Encouragement in the Waiting

Erin Akin Carroll

Taking life a day at a time, with a little bit of faith and a whole lot of trial and error.

Whimsical September

Taking life a day at a time, with a little bit of faith and a whole lot of trial and error.

The Life Of Faith

Taking life a day at a time, with a little bit of faith and a whole lot of trial and error.

* View Along the Way *

Taking life a day at a time, with a little bit of faith and a whole lot of trial and error.

Magnolia Market

Taking life a day at a time, with a little bit of faith and a whole lot of trial and error.

Where's my Baby Bear?

A journey through infertility, life with twins, and other random thoughts.

Adventures of a Labor Nurse

The Highs and Lows of Labor and Delivery

www.aholyexperience.com/

Just another WordPress.com site

5th Belle Avenue

Taking life a day at a time, with a little bit of faith and a whole lot of trial and error.

Abeautifulministry

Taking life a day at a time, with a little bit of faith and a whole lot of trial and error.

(in)courage

Taking life a day at a time, with a little bit of faith and a whole lot of trial and error.

Young House Love

DIY Home Decorating Projects, Tutorials, & Shenanigans

The New Girl On Post

Taking life a day at a time, with a little bit of faith and a whole lot of trial and error.

Blueberry's Blog

Taking life a day at a time, with a little bit of faith and a whole lot of trial and error.

scottyboy and katygirl.

Taking life a day at a time, with a little bit of faith and a whole lot of trial and error.

Kari Gibson | On A Journey To Love Big

Taking life a day at a time, with a little bit of faith and a whole lot of trial and error.

