Migraines… Blech!

MAN they suck, right?!

I get them more often then I’d like to admit to myself, but thankfully not as often as others. So far, I’ve only been able to recognize 2 triggers…
1) aspartame. anything with aspartame results in a migraine, sometime as quickly as just 2 minutes after consumption. It sucks. And oddly enough, I find it in more and more things all the time!
2) sudden changes in barometric pressure. And frankly, there’s nothing I can do about it. I mean, it stinks, but it is what it is.

I should probably see the doctor again. I apparrently suffered from them for yeeaars before ever mentioning anything to my doctor, and she told me that it sounded more like migraines than just your average headache. Who knew?! But that’s pretty much where I left it.

I knew that Excedrin always helped, so I wasn’t too worried about it. Fast forward a little bit and as we were more concerned with having a family, I decided that taking Excedrin really wouldn’t be a good plan since it has NSAIDs in it. So now that that’s no longer an option, I find myself getting a little more creative.

I mentioned to my doctor about my concerns with the NSAIDs and she said that I should get at least similar results by taking 1 Extra Strength Tylenol and drinking it with some caffeine, since those are the other 2 key ingredients in the Excedrin.

And she’s right!

Even with the bad ones, it at least helps take the edge off, but I have discovered that if nothing else, it at least takes the edge off and for me – that’s a win.

Well, today I woke up with a migraine and I had only had some pain for about 10 minutes before bed, but figured it was just an average headache and that maybe heading to bed would take care of that, since it was already pretty late. Fast forward to wake-up call and it was definitely in migraine territory. I tried taking a tylenol, and laid back down…..

Nothing.

So when I finally pryed myself out of bed a few hours later (am I the only one that doesn’t want to even move when I have a migraine?!), I decided it was high time for my Tylenol-Caffeine cocktail.

Thankfully, that did the trick. It’s taken some time to get back to some semblence of normal, but it was just what I needed.

Do any of you struggle with migraines? What are your tips or tricks for surviving the ugly?

~Hope

Posted on March 3, 2014, in pains and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I suffer from migraines more often that I would like too! I never even thought about aspartame being a trigger! I should monitor that and see if I notice a difference! I drink peppermint tea and that does help. I don’t know what it is about the smell of peppermint, but it helps! As well as Tylenol so not sure if it’s the Tylenol or the tea, but I like to think both help the pain! 🙂

    Like

    • Makes sense to me! I know that it all effects people differently, so hopefully this can help! My husband even thought the aspartame thing was all in my head until I asked the doc and he confirmed it. Craziness! And warning: aspartame is in EEEEEEVERYrhing these days… Especially diet and low calorie drinks. Total buzzkill!

      Like

Leave a Reply

This is our Bliss

Creating a happy home, room-by-room and day-by-day.

Sawdust Girl®

Renovation, cabinet building and woodworking plans and tutorials. Build like a Girl®

In Due Time

Hope & Encouragement in the Waiting

Erin Akin Carroll

Taking life a day at a time, with a little bit of faith and a whole lot of trial and error.

Whimsical September

Taking life a day at a time, with a little bit of faith and a whole lot of trial and error.

The Life Of Faith

Taking life a day at a time, with a little bit of faith and a whole lot of trial and error.

* View Along the Way *

Taking life a day at a time, with a little bit of faith and a whole lot of trial and error.

Magnolia Market

Taking life a day at a time, with a little bit of faith and a whole lot of trial and error.

Where's my Baby Bear?

A journey through infertility, life with twins, and other random thoughts.

Adventures of a Labor Nurse

The Highs and Lows of Labor and Delivery

www.aholyexperience.com/

Just another WordPress.com site

5th Belle Avenue

Taking life a day at a time, with a little bit of faith and a whole lot of trial and error.

Abeautifulministry

Taking life a day at a time, with a little bit of faith and a whole lot of trial and error.

(in)courage

Taking life a day at a time, with a little bit of faith and a whole lot of trial and error.

Young House Love

DIY Home Decorating Projects, Tutorials, & Shenanigans

The New Girl On Post

Taking life a day at a time, with a little bit of faith and a whole lot of trial and error.

Blueberry's Blog

Taking life a day at a time, with a little bit of faith and a whole lot of trial and error.

scottyboy and katygirl.

Taking life a day at a time, with a little bit of faith and a whole lot of trial and error.

Kari Gibson | On A Journey To Love Big

Taking life a day at a time, with a little bit of faith and a whole lot of trial and error.

